About Subaru

About Subaru

Our history

Subaru Australia is the exclusive Australian importer and distributor of vehicles manufactured by Fuji Heavy Industries.

Imported by Subaru Australia since 1973, our range includes the multi-award winning Forester, Impreza, Liberty, WRX, Outback, XV and BRZ.

Subaru Australia vehicles were exclusively All-Wheel Drive (AWD) from 1998 but now includes the highly sought-after rear-wheel drive BRZ.

Our philosophy is based on high quality engineering, active and passive safety, reliability, a fun driving experience and value.

We’ve achieved many firsts. We were the first main stream car company in Australia to achieve a 5-star ANCAP rating for occupant safety across our entire range. We won 10 consecutive Australian Rally Championships, and we even sold the first new car model exclusively online.

We’re proud of what makes us different and we strive to put our customers at the heart of everything we do. Subaru is All 4 the Driver TM.

Discover the Subaru range


The Subaru Journey

1958 – Subaru 360 is introduced, becoming an instant bestseller.

1966 – Subaru 1000 is introduced, highlighted by the company’s first use of a horizontally-opposed Boxer engine.
1973 – The first Subaru with on demand All-Wheel Drive released, combined with symmetrical drivetrain, provides exceptional control, balance and traction.
1977 – The two seat on demand All-Wheel Drive Subaru Brumby was launched in Australia long before cross-over vehicles would become mainstream.
1989 – The Subaru Liberty is launched to critical acclaim.
1993 – Champions! Subaru World Rally Team (SWRT) records its first WRC round win. Later that season, SWRT switched from the Legacy WRC to the Impreza WRX.
1993 – Impreza is launched in Australia.
1996 – Outback is launched in Australia.
1996 - 2005 – Subaru wins 10 consecutive Australian Rally Championships to add to their six World Rally Championships.
1997 – Forester is launched in Australia.
1997 – Subaru is the first car company to offer All-Wheel Drive as standard on every model sold in Australia.

2000 – Impreza including Impreza WRX wins Wheels Car of the Year – joining our other winners, the 1999 Liberty Wagon and 1995 Liberty.

2006 – Tribeca is launched in Australia.
2007 – The new generation Impreza is launched and achieves a maximum 5-star ANCAP occupant safety rating. Every new Subaru model in Australia has been awarded the maximum 5-star ANCAP occupant safety rating.
2008 – With the launch of the 2009 Liberty and Outback variants, every Subaru now has electronic stability control as a standard featureand a 5-star ANCAP occupant safety rating.
2009 – Introduction of the first turbo diesel horizontally-opposed Boxer engine in Australia.